Everything You Wanted to Know About Derbys

Even though we’ve witnessed some incredible sweeps during the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes over the last couple of decades — the years 1978 to 2014 have not delivered a single winner of the prestigious Triple Crown races.

After Affirmed’s Triple Crown victory in 1978, horse racing fans sort of felt they were left with a cliffhanger. The glory era of the Triple Crown – particularly the seventies when Secretariat, Seattle Slew, and Affirmed reigned the Series – faded with the passage of time. And, while there were some favorites we’ve been keeping our eyes on ever since, the Triple Crown remained ever evading.

That is until American Pharoah performed the historic feat some of us have been waiting for almost our whole lives. He completed the 2015 Belmont Stakes in a record 2:26.65 – the sixth-fastest of all time, and became the first racer to win the Triple Crown in 37 years. Not only does American Pharoah’s achievement remind us that the Triple Crown is the toughest race in Thoroughbred racing, but that it’s not impossible to conquer this prestigious championship.

Whatever you want to call him – superstar, hero or prodigy – one thing is for sure: American Pharoah revived our excitement of the Triple Crown. And since we’re still in the celebration spirit, we present you with this infographic from online wagering site MyWinners.com.  From it you can learn some fun facts about the Triple Crown series, including its history and a list of past winners.

triple crown_1

Add a Comment